Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

My First Rejection Letter! July 31, 2010

Filed under: Writing — katblogger @ 2:29 PM
Tags: , ,

Yes, I know, super exciting. Just like you can’t be a bicyclist without falling once or twice, you can’t be an author without getting rejected. It’s a career fraught with rejection. And it’s rather exciting to know that you’ve put your name out there in the writing world, so to speak, even if you did get shot down. For now. But as everyone knows, you’ve got to submit like a million things before you get accepted.

I shall share the typed and hand written text:

Dear Author:

Thank you for submitting your work to (magazine). Though it doesn’t meet our current needs, we appreciate the opportunity to consider it for publication. we wish you luck in placing it elsewhere. Keep up the good work.

(Handwritten section): Thank you for your story submission. Although we will not be able to publish this piece, we think you have very good potential. Please consider sending us more of your work in the future.

This is open to severe analysis. Though it doesn’t meet our current needs… does that mean you can submit it again later? We wish you luck in placing it elsewhere. Do they think it’s good enough to be accepted somewhere else? Very good potential? Is that true, or just some ego salve. And please consider sending us more. That makes sense, at least. They sent me a flyer encouraging me to enter in a contest. Of course they want me to enter as many times as I want – there’s an entry fee.

Who knew you could find so many mysteries in a rejection notice? I’m sure I’ll find more as my stack of rejections grows higher… and maybe eventually I’ll get a whole different kind of letter…

(This stupid image won’t go where I tell it to, no matter how many times I try. Sorry. It’s supposed to be centered.)

 

3 Responses to “My First Rejection Letter!”

  1. katblogger Says:

    Hey! I got it to work!

  2. amanda Says:

    I saw the title of your post and had to stop. That hand-written part of your rejection is gold…go celebrate! You might appreciate a recent post I did on this very topic — a little comic relief;

    http://amandaswrinkledpages.com/2010/07/16/a-writers-interpretation-of-a-maybe/

    Good luck!

  3. […] at first I thought this would be tricky. I’d sent submissions to the Missouri Review, with demoralizing results, but once I actually read an issue, I realized that wasn’t the […]


Leave a Reply

