Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

Mockingjay…??? August 28, 2010

Filed under: Books — katblogger @ 2:39 PM
Tags: ,

So…

I got Mockingjay. And I’ve got to say – trying not to hurt the feelings of Suzanne Collins, who worked very hard on it, I’m sure – I didn’t really like it.

Ready for it? SPOILER ALERT!!!!

It seems to me that every time I get to like a character, they die. I’m serious. In all three Hunger Games books, everyone I liked died. Plus a bunch of people I didn’t like, but so many people died that was certain to happen. I know deaths are realistic, but really? Mockingjay‘s death toll was so high I was reminded of the 7th Harry Potter book. Not for the last time, either, but I’ll get to that.

When I read a book, I get really into it. Even after I’m done, I feel like part of me is still in that character, still immersed in that world. After reading Mockingjay, I felt like I was in a state of shock. I mean, Katniss spends most of her time being knocked unconscious or going crazy. She’s not a character you want to get too close to. Watching the strong young woman we’d grown to love spiral into a black hole was painful, but I had a hard time relating. It just seemed so out of character.

Don’t get me started on the ending, either. Gale just conveniently disappears? I was all for Team Peeta, but this ended a little too easily. Ok, he’s nuts, but everyone in this book sort of ended up nuts. And the flash forward to children? Done before in Harry Potter, and I hated that ending too. It just seems like a quick fix to me.

Alright, I’ve whined long enough. Maybe no one will agree with me – you’re entitled to your own opinions. But Mockingjay, and maybe even Catching Fire, lacked the magic of the first book. Since I only own the Hunger Games, perhaps I’ll keep it that way – just reading the first book and pretending it all ended that way.

 

Leave a Reply

