Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

Tests, Tests, Tests October 13, 2010

Filed under: Whatever — katblogger @ 10:18 PM
Tags: ,

PSAT. PLAN. ACT. SAT. What do these have in common? They’re all tests that measure our ‘aptitude’ in an academic environment. They all help determine if we’ll get into a good college, and how much money that good college will give us. In other words, they have a significant impact on the rest of our lives. But should they?

Another thing these tests have in common is that they’re taken on one day. So they measure you on one day – they don’t care if you’re tired, or sick, or have a right heel that’s rapidly swelling up for no apparent reason. (I still don’t know why…) All that matters is you, the test, and how fast you can fill in a bunch of bubbles.

http://www.collegeprimers.com/testing.php

So what’s the problem? Well, it may upset some of you to hear this, but real life does not include a bunch of bubble filling. In fact, most of the things covered on these tests are completely useless. Will I need to find the area of a polygon made up of different shapes when I’m 37? Probably not.

I might sound bitter, so let me assure you – I’m right there in the top with the master bubble fillers. It’s practically my profession. Unfortunately, that seems to be the only profession school is preparing us for. How much of your education will you/ have you used in your adult life?

Trust me, I don’t have any grand and sweeping ideas for reform. Maybe I’m just in a sour mood after sitting for three and a half hours answering questions I’ll never need to know. All I’m saying is that we need a change.

 

One Response to “Tests, Tests, Tests”

  1. Kristin Says:

    “like”!!!!


Leave a Reply

