Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

Just Another Slot on the College Checklist January 10, 2011

Filed under: In the News — katblogger @ 9:08 AM
Tags:

Who knows? Maybe someday soon, I’ll have yet another factor to use to help me cross whole lists of colleges of my list.

I’m talking about allowing guns on college campuses. I’ve said to my family, “I will never set foot on a campus where they allow you to have concealed – or heck, unconcealed – weapons.” I know only Utah currently has this policy, but eleven states have bills pending: Alabama, Arizona, Georgia, Indiana, Kentucky, Michigan, Ohio, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, and Washington. You can believe that if any of those pass bills, their schools are off my list. Why am I making such a fuss about this? Well, I’ll tell you.

Some people argue that this is for defense only, that the people who use guns to commit murder have them illegally. Apparently, if you have a gun license, that means you’ll never use it unwisely. I don’t know what it takes to get such a license, but I’ve heard plenty of cases when registered guns have been used unlawfully. And it turns out, the registered ones kill people just as permanently as the unregistered ones.

                                                                                                                             http://www.seton.com/gun-prohibition-signs-security-notice-concealed-weapons-prohibited-94499.html

For example, the story of a man driving who saw a cyclist with his son – wearing no helmet – along for the ride. So angered by this lack of child safety, the driver pulled out a gun and shot the cyclist. The gun was his and he had a permit. I’m sure the kid was very grateful.

Or the kid in Nebraska who was suspended and came back to school with his father’s gun. His father owned this gun legally, but did that stop someone else from taking it and using it? Nope.

What do these have in common? The shootings were products of emotion – out of control emotion. If you have easy access to guns, you can do something stupid before your mind clears and you think twice. Young adults can be unstable. A girl breaks up with a boy, someone gets a bad grade on a test, a fight breaks out at a frat party…. for an unstable individual, the response could be to come out shooting. If they had to go off campus to find a gun, they might cool down. If there’s a pistol in their backpack, there may not be time.

Maybe I’m overreacting. I’m sure many will say that I am, that I need to remember how ‘seconds matter’ and ‘responsible armed people can save lives’. Sure, but in the words of Stephen Colbert “Guns don’t kill people. People kill people. But the guns definitely help. If you point your finger at someone and say ‘Bang!’, they’re not going to die.’

So, most accurately, people with guns kill people quite efficiently, and I don’t want them on my campus.

 

Leave a Reply

