Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

This I Believe February 12, 2011

Filed under: Writing — katblogger @ 12:40 PM
Tags:

You may have heard of a group called This I Believe, which started out as a call on the radio for people to send in essays on what they personally believe. It’s blossomed into something much larger, with a website at http://thisibelieve.org/. At my school, we were challenged to write one ourselves. No one would see it but the teacher grading it. We could write whatever we wanted – a list of what we believed, an essay on just one thing… whatever we wanted.

I found this to be a great way to get some things off my chest. To just write what I really thought without having other people judging me for it. If you just want a fun writing exercise, you might want to try it out. I had a lot of fun with it. I won’t post the whole thing here, but I’ll post the last paragraph, to give an example. If you go to the website, there’s thousands of essays you can page through.

                 I believe in a lot of things. I believe in what I can touch, taste, see, feel, hear, and understand. I believe that wars have no winners, because when a person has to take another’s life, everyone loses. I believe in being the best you can be, because who knows when you’ll get another chance? Of course, believing something doesn’t make it true, but like I said, nothing is ever able to be proven absolutely true. So the best we can do is believe what we want, let others believe what they want, and hang on for the ride.

 

Leave a Reply

