Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

What am I Reading? 6/13 (Plus an Announcement) June 13, 2011

Filed under: Books — katblogger @ 12:06 PM
Tags: ,

 

http://www.randomhouse.com/features/markuszusak/books.html

Summary: Nineteen year old cab driver Ed Kennedy is nobody – until he stops a bank robbery. Suddenly, someone’s noticed him, because they send him a playing card in the mail. The card, the ace of diamonds, has three addresses written on it. At each address is a mission for Ed to make someone’s life a little bit better. The only questions are: who is sending the cards, and why?

Thoughts: I liked this book… until the end, which made me go ‘Huh’. But other than that,  I liked the message. Still, I prefer Zusak’s other book, The Book Thief.

And now for the announcement. The glorious scholarship search of Fastweb.com matched me up with a contest from Create Real Impact. The idea: do some piece of art (writing, video, music, image) to convince people not to text and drive.

Being a writer, I went with the creative writing option. Most people submitted their entry through google docs or by creating a new blog for just that entry. Since I have no idea what google docs is and think creating a new blog for one post is a waste (and very confusing for anyone who just happens upon it) I’m posting my entry here. Lucky you.

I’ll admit, it’s not my best (or favorite) piece of writing ever. It’s meant to dissuade people, which means it’s a heck of a downer. When my next post appears – in its one thousand word glory – feel free to skip it over. Otherwise, I’m not responsible for any scarring that may occur.

 

Leave a Reply

