Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

What am I Reading? 6/20 June 20, 2011

Filed under: Books — katblogger @ 12:45 PM
Tags:

 

http://www.amazon.com/School-Story-Andrew-Clements/dp/0689848293

Summary: A twelve year old girl, Natalie Nelson, has a mother in the editing and publishing industry. When she writes a book , her friend Zoe convinces her to publish it, but Natalie doesn’t want her mom to know she wrote it. The two girls – using a pen name, a helpful teacher, and a rented office – pretend to be an adult author and a book agent respectively to get the manuscript noticed.

Thoughts: When I was younger, I loved this book. I actually haven’t read it in years, but during an annoyingly sleepless night, I grabbed it to keep me company. It’s a fun book, but I wish getting something published was that easy.

 

Leave a Reply

