Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

I Won! November 25, 2011

Filed under: Books,Writing — katblogger @ 3:31 PM
Tags: ,

That’s right. At around 12 today, I entered my novel into the validator and came out as a winner of NaNo 2011. For proof, simply look below:

Of course, technically I had 50000 words on the 19th, but it doesn’t feel real until the website validates you.

Anyway, now that NaNo has cooled down, I can start posting normally again. Hopefully. For my first comeback post, I’m going to complain a bit. Can you guess why?

Of course. For the last few weeks, I have been bombarded by Breaking Dawn ads, and people gushing over Breaking Dawn. It’s enough to make a reader of decent literature gag.

Why am I hating on this book series so much? you might ask. If you don’t like it, just don’t read it.

And maybe I wouldn’t have such a problem with it… if ‘perfect, beautiful, god-like Edward’ wasn’t an abusive boyfriend. That’s right – the character that millions of pre-teen, impressionable little girls are looking up to as the perfect husband matches 12 out of 20 warning signs for an abusive boyfriend. So tell me that these books aren’t dangerous. They’re scary for more than their potential as really good bludgeoning weapons. They rationalize abusive, controlling behavior.

Don’t believe me? Read Eclipse. That one’s the worst. Edward is portrayed as being protective… as he rips the starter cables out of Bella’s truck so she can’t visit her friends, and later has his sister kidnap her every time he’s gone so she won’t wander off. How the h**l is that supposed to be romantic? I really hope a bunch of thirteen year olds don’t go out searching for their own personal Edward… because they may find themselves in their own personal nightmare.

 

Leave a Reply

