Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

Resolutions and Other Stupid Things I’ve Done December 25, 2011

Filed under: Writing — katblogger @ 11:30 AM

There will be no Blogging the Bible this week, or next week. I’m taking a hiatus of around a week, for reasons that are beyond my control. Let’s just say that breaks never turn out very restful for me. But don’t worry – I’ll be back next week, probably on Monday or Tuesday, depending on how fast I deal with my workload.

This leaves me with a rather short amount of time, and therefore a rather short post.

I’m not usually one for New Year’s Resolutions. Why? I forget them. Promptly.

However, as I trawled through inkpop forums, I ran into a thread about writing resolutions. It challenged members to make a writing based resolution to complete before the end of next year. Without bothering to consider – and ignoring the threats of dire consequences if you failed – I signed up, promising to finish edits this year. Sure, I was planning to do that anyway, but now I have online retribution hanging over my head if I fail. Life is good.

Have you made any writing or non-writing based resolutions? Are they well thought out or spur of the moment? Do you have a chance of fulfilling them, or do you plan to forget them as soon as possible?

 

Leave a Reply

