Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

Kat Meets Real Life 1 – Banking June 15, 2012

Filed under: Whatever — katblogger @ 12:52 PM
Tags: , , , ,

I can no longer hide from it. I’m going to college. Living (relatively) on my own. I’m going to come face to face with Real Life. I’m not sure which one of us is more terrified.

Over the next four years (and by extension the rest of my life) I’ll be called upon to do more and more ‘adult’ tasks. Laundry. Paying bills. Yelling at telemarketers. These experiences, though harrowing, may provide amusement for others. My last attempt at cooking something other than pasta resulted in me shrieking and jumping back as pork chops sizzled ferociously at me. Looking back, even I think that’s funny. So my Real Life post series (tagged KMRL) will chronicle my attempts to step into the adult world. They’ll probably be fraught with failure and hilarity, but who knows? Maybe I’ll pick up some tips to share along the way.

The stuff of the Devil.

My first challenge was monetary in nature. I needed to set up accounts I could access in college, as well as obtain an item I’ve dreaded for years: a credit card.

Credit cards scare me. It’s stupid, but they do. I can be forgetful at times, and I’m terrified that I’ll forget a $10 charge and have to pay $15000 in interest. Credit cards, to me, mean responsibility. Big purchases. Huge debts. Doom. Now I have one.

It wasn’t really that bad. I went in, listened to a bank employee go over my options multiple times (I wasn’t sure how to politely inform her that she was repeating herself), and signed my name a bunch of times. Now a credit card’s coming in the mail, and I actually have access to my savings. It scares me. Before now, I’ve been focused on saving money – for college, for a car, for a house, whatever. Now I have to start spending it, and it doesn’t seem like much. The world’s a big and scary place when you’re an unemployed undergraduate. Too bad I don’t have a job – but that’s another story.

 

4 Responses to “Kat Meets Real Life 1 – Banking”

  1. Hang in there! Good luck! 😉

  2. Michael Says:

    Don’t worry about the credit card situation. Chances are you won’t be able to put a lot on it until your credit is established. I believe they start most people off with $500 nowadays? Sometimes less.

    • katblogger Says:

      Thanks for the encouragement. 🙂 I’m worried a small charge will add up, but I’m clearly being overdramatic… most people manage to survive with these things.


Leave a Reply

