Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

Editing by Omission August 13, 2012

Filed under: Writing — katblogger @ 3:54 PM
Tags: , ,

My editing process can be… harsh. Some days, I gently tweak a sentence here and there. Some days, I rain devastation upon all text in my path. No scene is safe. I delete in great swathes, certain everything is complete trash.

The worst part, I think, is when I spend long minutes on a sentence. I’ll adjust the order, mess with the diction, tweak, primp… and then decide to cut it altogether. All that time wasted. Here’s a visual approximation of the technique I use way too often.

Nah. Adverbs are the enemy. Cut it.

I think I mentioned the crowds earlier. Adjectives are bad. Cut it.

I made it clear that he’s on the street. Cut it.

Ok. Now it just sounds awkward. Cut it.

Perfect.

At this rate, I will only be completely happy with my work when there’s a blank page staring back at me.

Awesome.

 

2 Responses to “Editing by Omission”

  1. diannegray Says:

    Sounds very much like my own edititing! People ask me how long it should take to write a novel and I tell them it depends on how long it takes to rewrite a sentence! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

