Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

College and Contests August 15, 2012

Filed under: Whatever,Writing — katblogger @ 8:36 PM
Tags: , , , ,

I’m writing this post from my college dorm, which is kind of crazy.

I only moved in yesterday, so I can’t make any definitive statements about college life yet. I can give you my first impression though – busy. I’ve been running around like a chicken with its head cut off – to use the very tired simile – finding books, fixing computers, buying passes… everything I need to get my life up and running.

Unfortunately, college also means something terrifying. Socializing.

I am not good at this. In the IB programme, I studied with the same set of kids for four years. Now I’m expected to learn people’s names? To talk to strangers? My reaction to all of this is to curl up in a hole and hide until semester break. But I will persevere. I’ve even learned three names!(Which I will forget quickly.) However, posting may not be as regular for a while as I wrestle out my new life.

Meanwhile, I got some good news!

Three times now I’ve succeeded by sneaking into the teen market right before the door shut on me. It’s a decent strategy. Competition is a lot lower in teen only magazines, because it cuts out so many people. Take advantage of that while you can. I’ve left those opportunities behind. Now any contests I enter pit me against writers with decades more experience, maybe even with books or awards to their name. Fighting my way past them is going to be tricky. For now I think I’ll sit back, relax, and handle college. Writing contests can wait.

 

2 Responses to “College and Contests”

  1. Very cool. You are right about taking advantage of that market while you can. Young writers should be encouraged to do that more.
    But now you do have an advantage: confidence and experience which others may not have even if they are older.

    • katblogger Says:

      I wish young writers did have more encouragement. Unfortunately, that’s often hard to come by and we’re told to wait. We can wait and get better, yes, but chances pass us by.
      Thanks for dropping by and liking this post.


Leave a Reply

