Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

NaNoWriMo and the Meaning of Victory November 18, 2012

Filed under: Writing — katblogger @ 6:59 PM
Tags:

I crossed the finish line for NaNoWriMo today. It was a rough year for a lot of reasons. I ended up getting sick of my project halfway through, switching to another story instead. I didn’t finish anything this year, but I do have some bits and pieces salvageable from the mess that always comes out of November.

If you’re not done, don’t despair. You have lots of time to finish, and the site won’t even let you register your victory until the 25th. If you are done, try to keep up the habit of writing every day. If you keep churning something out – even a paragraph or two – you’ll get more practice and more readable material.

For more, I’ll refer you to this post on winning NaNo I wrote two years ago. I’d say it’s mostly still valid, except for the thing about editing being fun. That is a dirty, dirty lie.

 

Leave a Reply

