Pencil to Paper

The Daily Life of a Compulsive Writer

Tragedy and the Question of Timing December 17, 2012

Filed under: In the News — katblogger @ 4:23 PM
Tags: , ,

We all know what happened last Friday, so I won’t go into details. Suffice it to say that it hit me – as it hit most people – very hard. I have grown up in a world where tragedies like this have become increasingly common. I do not plan on having children, but I would like the children of my friends and younger family members to grow up in a better world than this. To do so, we need a change.

I posted an admittedly vague and angry call for change on my Facebook page and was almost immediately chastised for my temerity. Political posturing – if that was what my desire for a safer world was – has no place after a tragedy. I was placing a soapbox upon the bodies of the dead, and that was beyond wrong – it was sickening. I should go sit in a corner and think about what I had done.

If a plague leveled a city, we would immediately search for a cure. If a plane crashed killing everyone on board, we would try to figure out what went wrong and fix it. It is only with incidents involving guns – or so it seems to me – that we are told it’s too soon to talk about gun control. But you know what? It’s not.

It is far, far too late.

Whenever people I know call for gun control, people jump to the conclusion that we want to take all guns away. Proponents of regulations are told that ‘only criminals will have guns’ and ‘we have rights’ and ‘it’s people, not the guns’.

We are not taking your toys away.

Although I would love to live in a nation where guns did not exist, I understand that is an impossible dream. However, there is no need – NONE – for civilians to get their hands on assault rifles, guns that shoot rounds faster than I can blink, or bullets that tear their victims apart. That is not self-defense. The only thing those are for is mass slaughter.

This article, I think, is a very good discussion on the topic. I hope that someday soon we can follow other countries and create meaningful regulations to cut down on the amount of lives lost. It is a tragedy in itself that we seem to need dead children to even hope for change, but that’s how it is.

I would really love to stop seeing shootings on the news.

 

Leave a Reply

